Once-A-Month cooking?

August 6, 2009 at 11:02 pm 6 comments

The first and so far only topic where the internet ever truly failed me was “Vegan Once-a-month cooking”  (where are the comprehensive websites?  Where are the grocery lists, the discussion groups?  The forums where people with witty usernames debate freezing techniques?) and so I’m starting this blog to document my attempts.  Hopefully anyone else doing some internet research can learn from the mistakes I’ll be making.

OAM cooking always seemed like a great idea to me – just fill the crockpot the night before, wake up, freeze the meal and chuck something else in the crockpot while getting started on a full day of cooking and freezing, and wham!  You get the month-long payoff of homemade fast food on a budget.  Like magic.  (Of course, there’s that whole “full day of cooking and freezing” part, but I think anything has the potential to become fun when you only have to do it once a month.)

Most omni sites emphasize the amount of saving you can achieve on your grocery budget by synchronizing your monthly grocery day with the advertised meat sales.  Since advertised tofu sales don’t exist here in Kansas, I can’t claim to be saving money that way.  Still, I’ll be saving money by eating meals made from scratch at home instead of spending the extra money on the Achilles Heel of my budget – vegan TV dinners.  (I know.  It’s terrible.  I have almost no patience when I’m hungry.)

Potential setbacks here include all of the chopping required, the planning, my mediocre cooking skills,  and my lack of freezer space.    I have only a small freezer above the fridge which I share with my little sister/roommate, but since I’ll mostly be cooking for 2 (and the occasional guest), I think we can make everything fit.   We come from a family where bananas, batteries, ground coffee, bread, and milk are all most commonly found in the freezer, so I see it as my genetic draw to stuff as many meals in there as possible.

Rest assured, if freezer space runs out, there will be pictures.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Menu A: Recipe List

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VegeTerrible  |  August 10, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Awesome concept, I will be checking in regularly!

    Reply
    • 2. vegoam  |  August 10, 2009 at 11:09 pm

      Thanks!!

      Reply
  • 3. kirsten  |  August 12, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Glad to find you– Google failed me on this topic too! So, no pressure or anything, but I’ll be following your adventure closely. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Joelle  |  December 3, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Good to find this. Ditto with the previous commenter. I have googled it several times and this is the best I’ve found. 🙂 Thanks.

    Reply
  • 5. Katharine in Brussels  |  January 4, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Wow, this was quite a lot of work and effort, excellent, thank you! I am putting together my veg*n OAMC recipes and plan too. Merci beaucoup / bedankt!

    Reply
  • 6. Http://Www.progressive.Com  |  July 25, 2014 at 6:19 am

    If some one desires to be updated with most recent technologies then he
    must be go to see this web site and be up to
    date every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


