Making Your Own Menu

August 25, 2009 at 5:38 pm 4 comments

Today lifehacker linked to KitchenMonki, a site that generates grocery-lists for you based on the recipes you choose  (Here’s the lifehacker post, complete with a cute scripted video about how to use KitchenMonki.)

It sounds excellent – you should be able to just decide what recipes you want to make for the month, click the ingredients needed, and then get a grocery list created by the site.  Much smoother than the method I use, which is filled with tallies and annotations and a lot of things crossed off by hand as I change my mind about recipes.

That said, it might suck, I don’t know.  I think it’s a Great Idea Whose Time Has Come, and I’ll definitely be using it when I do my OAMC next week.  If you experiment with it, please let me know how it goes!  I’d really be interested in whether it lets you add rarer items like nutritional yeast or tempeh.  I’ll probably post my results with it next week sometime, but it would be cool to see what other people think.

(Unrelated:  It turns out that I don’t like gazpacho.  I probably should have thought of this before making and freezing 5 servings.  I’m not sure what I’ll do with it yet, but I think cold tomato soup is really just not my cup of tea.  It’s super nice to be able to reject a meal and pull something else out of the freezer, though.  Mexican Gumbo for dinner!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Menu A Progress Report

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aisling  |  August 31, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Can you warm your gazpacho, and just treat it as more traditional tomato soup? I have no idea if I like gazpacho… I’ve always heard of it, but never tried it.

    I’m interested in how your once-a-month-vegan cooking project proceeds. Thank you for sharing your experience here. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  December 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Nooo! Why did you stop updating?!?! You’re so right, there is a lack of this particular topic on the internet, so I was so happy to find your blog. The menus, tips, and ideas so far are inspiring though!

    Reply
  • 3. Quidam  |  August 13, 2010 at 4:16 am

    I love this site and the idea behind it, but I’m so sad that you haven’t posted in almost an exact year!
    I would love it if you added more recipes and tips and whatever else to this site. I’ll be leaving home for the first time, and making large batches of things and freezing it will be very helpful and convenient.
    Thank you so much for everything you already have up here, though.

    Reply
  • 4. Sergio Sebren  |  January 19, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Thanks for every other informative website. The place else may just I get that kind of information written in such a perfect way? I’ve a mission that I’m just now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

